Personal information we collect
When you create an account, we require an email address (we send you an email to verify it during the account creation process); this email acts as user identifier. You may also elect to add a personal picture that represents you within WDL, indicate a nick name, your home city/country and add your mood. This information will be visible to the public, but your email address will remain private. You may modify any of your information at any time via your settings page, except the email address and nick name. We collect the information that you elect to share with us.
Information collected automatically
When you access WDL via the website and/or mobile application, we may store your public IP address and gather user actions for analytics to improve WDL for everyone.
Creating your contents
The key functionality of WDL is to store windsurf records (session records, called "logs" and session places, called "spots") by means of the WDL mobile app and images or comment by means of the WDL website for the public to find (log information, spot information, pictures, location information, etc. here after are "Content"). As you create these records you should be mindful of your privacy. You may not want to leave a note publicly that identifies where you live. Additionally, you should be mindful of the privacy of others when you create records. While you may be comfortable sharing an anecdote of your great windsurf session, your friends or other people windsurfing at same time/place may prefer that their performance is not described in such a way. If you do find that your personal data have been disclosed in an unwanted manner, please CONTACT us.
WDL website restrictions
WDL website provide a limited acces with anonymous people browsing the WDL website: user profile page, log detail page and spot detail page access is allowed to registered users (and correctly logged in) only. Any person can create an account for free. These information are available via WDL mobile application too because app/server communication requires valid credentials and autentication (WDL mobile application user is a registered user).
Follow your friends. Who is following me?
WDL allows users to create a personal list of preferred members to follow; followed member's logs and spots are presented directly in the user page. Each user can see who is following him/her by checking the personal list of follower members; a user can block a member to comment his/her logs/spot and can prevent a member to add his/her account in the member's following list. The blocked member can't interact with the blocking user, however the blocked member can still access the blocking user's records by accessing the user public page (upon authentication).
Joining WDL Community
Each user can decide to participate or not to WDL by registering to the community (by running the wizard on the mobile app or from the website); if a user decides to interrupt his/her participation, he/sha can terminate his/her account (by selecting "delete account" under settings on the mobile app or from the website). Note that if a user does not participate to the community, the mobile application continues to run as in stand-alone mode and any modification or new record is solely stored on the mobile application. See FAQ page for more explanation.
Hide part of user information
WDL mobile application includes a setting "is private" for each record allowing you to hide a log and/or a spot. If a spot is marked as "is private", any log belonging to this spot is hidden as well. In case a record is marked as "private", it is still stored on WDL servers but not visible to the public.
How your information is shared
Other than to its employees and contractors who may view your account information as part of their business dutie,, WDL will disclose potentially-personally-identifying and personally-identifying information only when required to do so by law.
How your information is stored
All non-personally-identifying information, potentially personally-identifying and personally identifying-information described above is stored on database servers with restricted access.
How can I delete my account?
You may terminate your WDL account at any time. You can either use the "delete user" setting of the mobile app, or the "delete user" link under personal setting page of the website. Please note that account deletion is permanent. All of your Content will be removed from WDL servers but may persist on WDL backup until they are is deleted.
How we communicate with you
We have have a message board on the WDL website, but we can communicate with you via email too if necessary.
Links to 3rd party sites
The Logger Project Transfers
If The Logger Project or substantially all (or partial) of its assets (including WDL) were acquired, or in the event that WDL goes out of business or enters bankruptcy or need financial resources to support its activity, user information would be one of the assets that is transferred or acquired by a third party. You acknowledge that such transfers may occur, and that any acquirer of The Logger Project may continue to use your personal information as set forth in this policy.
Advertising may appear within WDL, both in the mobile app and in the website. WDL may scrape up resources to sustain montly costs (eg. server rental and serivce) by sending one Ad email per month maximum.
Google Map service
- name, email address, postal address and telephone number of the person notifying
- description that would allow for identification of infringing material on WDL
- URL on WDL of the infringing material
- a statement by you that you have a good faith belief that the disputed use is not authorized by the copyright or intellectual property owner, its agent, or the law
- a statement by you, made under penalty of perjury, that the above information in your Notice is accurate and that you are the copyright or intellectual property owner or authorized to act on the copyright or intellectual property owner's behalf.
Should you have any questions about this document, please CONTACT us.